IAM International President Robert Martinez Jr. and IAM Organizing Director Vinny Addeo recognized members last week for their continued efforts to grow the strength of the IAM and working families with a virtual presentation of the second annual International President’s Excellence in Organizing Awards.

Watch the video.

“I am so proud of the efforts our organizers and leaders have put in to growing our great union and bringing power back to the working people in the U.S. and Canada,” said Martinez. “Organizing can be an extremely difficult, yet rewarding job and these members do it with tenacity, passion and drive. I want to thank Organizing Director Vinny Addeo, the Organizing Department and all the organizers in every Territory for their dedication to working families and to growing the IAM.”

“Recognizing our Brothers’ and Sisters’ successes in organizing is so paramount to the task itself,” said Addeo. “Organizing is the most difficult challenge in the labor movement and that’s why it is so important for our Union to show our appreciation to them, which reinforces the significance of their accomplishments.”

 Awards for 2019 were given for the top District or Local from each respective territory, top individual organizer from each respective territory, top organizing territory and top individual organizer.

Top Organizing Territory: Western Territory

Organizer of the Year: Justin Mauldin, District 725 Director of Organizing

Western Territory

Top District/Local: District 725

Individual: Justin Mauldin, District 725 Organizing Director

Transportation Department

Top District/Local: District 141

Individual: Mike Klemm, District 141 President and Directing General Chair

Eastern Territory

Top District/Local: District 1

Individual: Brent Coleman, District 1 Organizer

Southern Territory

Top District/Local: District 776

Individual: Valerie Rodriguez, Grand Lodge Representative

Canadian Territory

Top District/Local: District 11

Individual: Nektarios (Nik) Sifakis, District 140 Organizer

Midwest Territory

Top District/Local: Local 701

Individual: Scott Brown, Local 778 Business Representative

IAM Headquarters

Individual: Dennis Mendenhall, Grand Lodge Special Representative

The post IAM Territories, Organizers Recognized for Growing Machinists Union appeared first on IAMAW.